top of page
hi!.png
  • Nikki

Pushing My Limits

It seems like 2020 is all about pushing the limits of what we never could have imagined was possible. For instance, who would have thought we would be in a 6 month long pandemic with wild fires raging in Australia & California, as endless riots are happening across the country? We find limits by pushing our boundaries of what we think is acceptable... and well, this year #theskysthelimit.


I will say, that with everything happening in the world, it probably wasn't the best idea to go sky diving this year, but YOLO! I am always down to try new things, so when my friends suggested a sky diving trip, you can count me in.


I am going to tell you about my first tandem sky diving experience at Sky's The Limit in East Stroudsburg, Pa. If you're questioning whether or not to take the leap and try sky diving- read on!


First, let's talk about the pro's vs. the con's:


Pro's:

  • Memories of a life time

  • "Check" off a box on the bucket list

  • Adrenaline high like you've never felt

  • How often do you get to jump out of a plane?

  • Tandem- someone knows what they're doing

  • Videos and pictures

Con's:

  • Uncontrollable nervousness

  • Uncontrollable anxiety

  • Possibility of dying

  • Fainting spells

  • Pricey

Second, lets discuss the process of getting prepared to jump!

  1. You arrive at the hanger, check-in, fill out a waiver, and watch a quick video.

  2. You wait for your group to be called (this could be a while depending on how many groups are ahead of you). The waiting is the hardest part.

  3. Your group gets called, finally!

  4. You suit up! Your instructor/experienced diver gets you harnessed up and explains the protocol of jumping. It went a little something like this: "Head back, chin up, squat, jump, scorpion legs, hands on the harness, hand signals, three taps, fly!, feet up for landing"

  5. Once everyone is in their harness, you get called out to the plane. Reality hits. You're about to board a plane that will be ascending 15,000 feet in the air.

Last, but not least - the jump.


Once you're on the plane, everyone is stoked and adrenaline is pumping high. I remember being packed into the plane like sardines, and my nerves were so stiff that I could barely move my limbs. I gazed out the airplane window while my instructor double and triple checked my harness to make sure everything was safe and secure. We were above the clouds. "12,000 feet",said Daniel, my instructor. "Are you ready?", he asked. Could I say no? We inched closer to the edge of the door, I put my head back and chin up, and just gazed into the white, blank, heaven like scene before my eyes. I said a prayer about making it safely to land, and I jumped! I didn't even have a second to overthink it. Everything happened so fast. We were free falling for about 60 seconds, and I couldn't gather what was happening around me fast enough. I couldn't stop smiling (either that or my face was stuck from the immense pressure from the wind). Thankfully, my instructor knew exactly what to do. I don't think I could function during the free fall. You'll see what I mean in the video below. It was like I was paralyzed. We went through a rain cloud and briefly I couldn't breath. Literally it was breathtaking. I have never experienced anything like this. Quite honestly I didn't know if I was going to pass out! The clouds broke, and I could see land. The parachute jerked us back, and from there on out it was smooth sailing. It was amazing, floating down to earth one-by- one like we were feathers. Weightless. Spinning. Spiraling. Gravitating back down to earth.


It was honestly one of the best experiences I have ever been through. I would 10/10 recommend it, and would do again. I think its safe to say that the pictures and videos below prove that the pro's outweigh the con's.


Once you take the jump, you find out you're limitless.


2020 Sky Diving during a pandemic, Skys the limit Pennsylvania
Skys the Limit Sky Diving Pennsylvania
Skys the limit sky diving Pennsylvania Air plane
Skys the Limit Sky Diving Adventures Pennsylvania
Skys the Limit Sky Diving Pennsylvania
Sky Diving Overlook Foliage


187 views0 comments
About Nikki Reist- Travel Lifestyle Blog
bottom of page